2015 Funded Programs

 DATE     EVENT LOCATION TIME COORDINATOR
March 28
April 18
May 3
ADVANCE at UM: Creating Institutional Change for Faculty and Student
Students' use of video resources in a mechanical engineering course
Increasing Opportunities to Pursue STEM: Relevant Efforts by the Office of Science and Technology Policy
 Johnson Rooms, LEC
Space Research Building Auditorium Room 2246
3:30
11:00
3:00

 Abigail Azari, azari@umich.edu & Shanna Daly, srdaly@umich.edu
 January 22                            February 5                      February 19                          March 4                                March 18                            April 1                                    April 15 Quantum Coffee GG. Brown Conf. Rm. 2540                                                          1:00-1:37 Shantonio Birch, swbirch@umich.edu 
 February 19th - Case and guidelines released to teams
March 11th - Case solutions due
March 14th - Semi finalists announced
March 18th - (subject to change) - Final formal presentation
 Michigan Graduate Consulting Club Case-Competition TBD 8:00-3:00 Rosemarie Figueroa, rfjacinto@gmail.com 
 October 23     SMES-G & SHPE-G Social Whirly Ball 6:00 Christian Greenhill, cmgreen@umich.edu & Juan Lopez, jslopez@umich.edu
 December 11 IS+D GSI & Grader Lunch-and-Learn ISD Classroom 151  12:30-1:30 Virginia Hamori-Ota, otav@umich.edu
 March 17-18 SMES-G State of the Union TBD Various sessions Phillip Hargrove, pthgrove@umich.edu 
 February 5 MICDE Student Association Kickoff Arbor Brewing Company4:30-8:30 Eric Harper, harperic@umich.edu
 March 7-18 Operation: Redefine Art
 
https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=--VIYY4RpKY 
 Duderstadt Gallery Gallery Hours Jessica Jones, jrenejo@umich.edu
 January 13
 January 20
 February 3
 February 17
 February 24
 March 2
 March 16
 May TBD
 How to network professionally as a graduate student
 
How to give a research elevator pitch
 
How to communicate in business (presentations, emails, self-packaging) 
 
How to give conference presentations
 How to navigate Q&A sessions
 Master the question and answer session: From conversation to presentation
 
Get more out of your meetings: How to stop wasting time and start getting stuff done
TBD
 2150 Dow 6:00-7:30 Kaitlyn Mallett, kmallett@umich.edu; Shannon Moran, moranse@umich.edu; Yue Gong, gongyue@umich.edu
 February 23       Storytelling for STEM: A RELATE Workshop on Developing your Scientific Narrative                                                                                                                               RSVP at https://secure.rackham.umich.edu/Events/wsreg.php?ws_id=346 Johnson Rooms, LEC 11:30-1:00 Brandon Patterson, awesome@umich.edu
 October - April LNF User Community Outreach: Contests and Social Hours Varies by activity Varies by activity Adam Peczalski, peczalsk@umich.edu
 November 13 Diwali Celebration EECS Atrium 5:00-6:30 Steven Pejuan, spejuan@umich.edu & Ann Riggs, amriggs@umich.edu
 April 1 Marketing Yourself in a Competitive Climate: Keys to Success In and Out of Engineering Space Research Building Room 2246 10:30 Jessica Randolph, jrand@umich.edu 
 February 5 CEE Winter Warm-Up 2315 GG Brown  3:00-4:00 Jessica Randolph, jrand@umich.edu 
 April 12 Margo Oge Keynote Address: Improving the Climate for Women in Engineering The Boeing Atrium, 1109 FXB 5:30 Maggie Reuter, mmreuter@umich.edu & Kelly Tepper, kltepper@umich.edu
 December 8 MS&E and ChE Holiday Social and Fundraiser Johnson Rooms, LEC 5:30 Ellen Solomon, esitz@umich.edu; Aeriel Murphy, aerielm@umich.edu; Elaina Anderson, elainara@umich.edu
 January 23 Cross-Country Ski Trip: GradSWE Hits the Slopes! Huron Meadows Metro Park10:00-3:00  Kelly Tepper, kltepper@umich.edu & Stephanie Crocker, sjcrock@umich.edu
 May  Polymerization Fraternization: A Team Building Exercise to POLY/PMSE Camaraderie The Adventure Park-West Bloomfield TBD Harry van der Laan, hllaan@umich.edu
 May 21 "Spring" Back Into Fitness 5K Around North Campus TBD Sydney Williams, sydneyw@umich.edu
February 12 Writing Literature Reviews: Some Considerations Wilson Center Conference Room 100012:00-1:00 Elaine Wisniewski, ewis@umich.edu & Pauline Khan, pbkhan@umich.edu